

Direct line Rhif ffôn 01269 825767 Your ref Eich cyf Our ref Ein cyf

Date Dyddiad 11 March 2019 Email Ebost <u>cllr.a.n.woolcock@npt.gov.uk</u> Contact Cyswllt Councillor A.N.Woolcock

The Rt Hon Alun Cairns MP Minister for Secretary of State for Wales

By e-mail

Dear Mr. Cairns

RE: Swansea Bay City Region

As Chair of the Swansea Bay City Region Joint Scrutiny Committee, I am writing to you following an issue that was raised at the committee meeting held on Friday, 1st March, 2019. The Joint Scrutiny Committee was very concerned to learn of the considerable delays being experienced in securing agreement from the Welsh and UK governments to the full business cases of the projects that make up the Swansea Bay City Region. The Joint Scrutiny Committee notes that these delays mean that almost two years since the Heads of Terms were signed, no business cases have yet reached a point where they have been approved for implementation. Members of the Joint Scrutiny Committee wish to underline the importance of the City Region to bringing about long term, sustainable improvements to the well-being of people across the region and would like to understand what action the Welsh Government and the UK Government intend to take to address the causes of the delays inherent in the existing processes.

continued overleaf...

I look forward to receiving your response in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Councillor Arwyn Woolcock Chair of the Swansea Bay City Deal Joint Scrutiny Committee

CC Ken Skates AM, Minister for Economy and Transport National Assembly for Wales (via e-mail)

Councillor Sharon Freeguard C/o Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council (by e-mail)

Councillor Alun Llewelyn C/o Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council (by e-mail)

Councillor Darren Price C/o Carmarthen County Council (by e-mail)

Councillor Rob James C/o Carmarthen County Council (by e-mail)

Councillor Giles Morgan C/o Carmarthen County Council (by e-mail)

Councillor James Adams C/o Pembrokeshire County Council (by e-mail)

Councillor Tony Baron C/o Pembrokeshire County Council (by e-mail)

Councillor Michael Evans C/o Pembrokeshire County Council (by e-mail)

Councillor Jan Curtice C/o City and County of Swansea (by e-mail)

Councillor Philip Downing C/o City and County of Swansea (by e-mail)

Councillor Jeff Jones City and County of Swansea (by e-mail)